Skip navigation

DSCN5904

Sometimes, things just capture my eye.  If it happens here, in this mostly colorless landscape, I have to take a few shots.  One evening, in just the right light, my vision scanned the mounds of Bougainvillea blossoms.  Their color is very sensuous to me.  I’m not sure why, but it moves me and I’m drawn to photograph them over and over.  In the middle of all their lush, almost self-indulgent prettiness, there was this solitary blossom – almost out of place.   I looked at it for a moment, then realized the simplicity of this one, single blossom was actually what had caught my eye.  In the most understated of ways it, alone, made the shot.  It made the reds redder.  It made the textures more delicate.  It made the moment more memorable.  I’ve had a handful of those moments in my life, where a single instant defined an existence and moved mountains and changed the course of my path.  Some of those moments lasted longer than others, but I will always remember the instant I knew.

8 Comments

  1. I love the color of this flower.

    Like

  2. Beautiful. Color is the most amazing thing, followed closely by our friend, light. 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh that is stunning! I lived in Scottsdale for years and you learn to look for the subtle beauty there! I love these flowers – they just fit so well with the Spanish flavor or the architecture there!! Beautiful shot!!
    Sarah

    Like

  4. I can honestly say I couldn’t find a picture I didn’t like on your blog! 😀

    Like

    • Thank you, so much. That’s very kind. I’m glad you enjoyed!!

      Like

  5. I love that bright little surprise of the pale amongst the dark. Lovely!

    Like

  6. That’s a very nice image! It’s often the way that a contrast will draw attention to something which might have been missed. In this case, it just emphasises the beauty of the bougainvillea!

    Like

  7. Great image – you’re absolutely right about the simplicity of the image and the contrast making it work. Nicely done.

    Like


Leave a Reply

